phone: 646-883-2742
430 Way Ave
St. Louis, MO 63122

Sullivan Audition Judges
are distinguished artists
and professionals, including,
among many others:

  • Susanne Mentzer
  • Charles MacKay
  • Anthony Fogg
  • Christine Brewer
  • Craig Rutenberg
  • Richard Gaddes
  • John Moriarty
  • George Shirley
  • Evans Mirageas
  • Bruce Donnell
  • Erie Mills
  • Marietta Simpson

Awards for 2018-2019

The William Matheus Sullivan Musical Foundation awarded seven $10,000 grants to young artists who auditioned for the Foundation in New York on November 11 and 12, 2018. In addition to these cash awards, winners will participate in the five-year program of continued financial aid for coaching in new roles, which is one of the unique features of the Sullivan awards. Judges for the auditions were Christine Brewer, Anthony Fogg, Charles MacKay, and Craig Rutenberg, all members of the Foundation’s board.

The Sullivan Winners

Winners of $10,000 awards and continuing assistance starting in 2019 are: sopranos Leah Hawkins, and Erica Petrocelli; tenors Bille Bruley, Mario Rojas, and Charles Sy; baritone Michael Adams; and bass Anthony Schneider. Four awards are named in memory of distinguished former Sullivan Foundation board members: Anthony Schneider’s award for baritone Theodor Uppman; Erica Petrocelli’s award for soprano Rose Bampton; Leah Hawkins’s award for mezzo-soprano Betty Allen, leader of the Harlem School for the Arts; and Mario Rojas’s award for soprano Gail Robinson, director of the Metropolitan Opera’s Lindemann Young Artist Development Program. These winners join the current roster recent Sullivan award winners, all of whom are eligible to apply to the Foundation for additional support to prepare new roles in opera or other works with full orchestra.

The panel also awarded $5,000 Career Development Grants to six singers: soprano Meryl Dominguez ; countertenor Daniel Moody; tenors Geoffrey Agpalo, Alexander McKissick, and Carlos Santelli; and bass Timothy Bruno.

Download the awards press release here.